Reasons (f)or Faith

The name of the work is “Reasons (f)or Faith”. The piece is a reflection on the sources of my Christian faith, the outward reflection of that faith, the truth of that faith versus the truth of thought and reason (as well as whether my faith is at odds or congruous with my thoughts, reasonings and experiences) and also has an element of the chicken and egg conundrum, which came first and who feeds who. I also look at how modern psychiatry and mental illness has influenced my viewpoints, for better or worse.

As far as materials used, I made all of the polymer clay tiles. I hand painted the stress ball brain. All other materials, denim, lace, doily, ric rac, beads, Milagros, metal feet, wood horse, knives, pills, fabric rose, paper fan, Cpap hose and mouthpiece, medium gel and super glue were gathered, but obviously not fabricated, by me. I’m still working on learning how to make the adorable crochet flowers.  My husband took the photo.  I had selfies that I considered strongly, but this photo best shared the feelings that I am trying to convey.  Thank you B, my love.

This box is set to show at Johns Hopkins Hospital Turner Auditorium in their 2016 NAP Show.

Leave a Reply

